Grace Walton Drops to Second Place After Scoring Adjustment in CrossFit Open 2024 Shakeup


We may receive a commission from our affiliate links at no additional cost to you. See disclosures page.

In a big turn of events at the 2024 CrossFit Open, athlete Grace Walton faced a crucial scoring adjustment that shifted her from the top spot on the leaderboard, placing her second and handing Mirjam von Rohr the overall win in the women’s division.

The adjustment came after a video review of the athletes’ performances, specifically targeting Walton’s execution during the 24.3 workout.

Walton, the Australian CrossFit competitor, was on the brink of clinching the first place in the women’s worldwide leaderboard with a great time of 9:32 for the 24.3 workout.

However, CrossFit’s final video review identified two repetitions where Walton’s feet exceeded the bar’s height in her bar muscle-ups, prompting a 10-second adjustment to her score. This revised score of 9:42 was enough to alter the leaderboard dynamics, enabling von Rohr to leapfrog into first place.

Here’s the video, do you agree on the penalty?

The adjustment to Walton’s score was the only change among the top 5 athletes in either the men’s or women’s divisions.

Mirjam von Rohr’s ascendancy to the top of the women’s leaderboard marks a significant milestone in her athletic career.

Von Rohr, a seasoned HYROX circuit competitor and the 2022 HYROX European Champion, has shown consistent improvement in her CrossFit Open performances over the past three years.

Her victory in the 2024 Open, underscored by a strategic and resilient showing across the workouts, earns her the coveted $15,000 prize and sets the stage for her future endeavors in the CrossFit Games.

Here’s the final leaderboard for the women’s division:

  • 1st place: Mirjam von Rohr ($15,000)
  • 2nd place: Grace Walton ($10,000)
  • 3rd place: Anikha Greer ($7,500)
  • 4th place: Arielle Loewen ($6,000)
  • 5th place: Carolyne Prevost ($5,000)

Here’s the top 5 in the men’s division:

  • 1st place: Jonne Koski ($15,000)
  • 2nd place: Saxon Panchik ($10,000)
  • 3rd place: Jay Crouch ($7,500)
  • 4th place: Luka Vunjak ($6,000)
  • 5th place:Noah Ohlsen ($5,000)